Music Video: Faithful ‘A Woman’ – Ellie Holcomb and Amy Grant

Faithful 'A Woman' - Ellie Holcomb and Amy Grant
Gospel Songs Mp3

FAITHFUL’s ‘A Woman’ is performed by Ellie Holcomb and Amy Grant, telling the story of Jesus’ revolutionary empowerment of the first women who told the world of his resurrection. The single was recorded live at Ocean Way Studios in Nashville, Tennessee, capturing the warm, powerful vocals and authentic interpretation inhabiting FAITHFUL’s musicianship.

Written by Ann Voskamp, Ellie Holcomb, and Sarah Macintosh, ‘A Woman’ poetically tells the story of a woman who didn’t quit by fear of irrelevance and crippling grief but followed the way of Jesus in love and obedience to Him. Her name was Mary Magdalene, the first witness of the Lord’s resurrection. ‘A Woman’ is built around Jesus’ apparition at the empty tomb as he calls Mary’s name and shatters her paradigm of sorrow. With this profound song, which was featured on Good Morning America, FAITHFUL revive our hope that we too can say, “once my name crossed his lips, how can I keep silent…” Because the tomb is empty, our lives aren’t. It’s only because the stone is rolled back that our surest hope comes back. From its emotionally charged verses and catchy chorus to the epic bridge, ‘A Woman’ is an ode of defiant joy and validation to be Christ’s voices in this world!

Coming to life in the winter before the pandemic, a group of well-known and respected authors and songwriters gathered as a community to write and share songs. Their work came to be known as FAITHFUL: songs and stories of God’s kindness to women throughout history and here with us today. Their debut album ‘FAITHFUL: Go and Speak’ shares songs from many of today’s renowned artists, songwriters, and authors; each song on this special thematic album featuring a woman telling the story of God’s faithfulness throughout Scripture to the present day. This collaboration between artists and authors has led to a collection of poetry and resonance through song. Artists involved on the album are Amy Grant, Ellie Holcomb, Ann Voskamp, Sarah Macintosh, Sandra McCracken, Ginny Owens, Leslie Jordan, Christy Nockels, Rachael Lampa, Kelly Minter, Savannah Locke, Sarah Kroger, Christa Wells, Tamar Chipp, Jess Ray, Janice Gaines, Trilla Newbell, and Taylor Leonhardt.

Leave a Reply